House Porn – Eclectic Country

Eclectic Country by Mary Emmerling. Photographs by Reed Davis.

Fans of Mary Emmerling and Country Decorating will want to browse through this book full of a variety of Country Styles. All current interiors – don’t be concerned – this is not your mother’s (or grandmother’s!) take on country from 1986. Think – antique cabinetry paired with stainless steel appliances, cowhide rugs, Moroccan stools – and faux skulls!

A tour of homes ranging from Prairie Country to Industrial Country, including Mary’s. We’re on a first name basis.

Prominent in the world of Decorating and Design she is synonymous for introducing Country Style to the masses – city dwellers who strove to be folk. The Editor – in – Chief of House Beautiful at one time, Emmerling’s home is tribute to her love of collecting and her eclectic (which is a mix of 3 or more curated styles) sensibility. Making her home in Arizona, the Southwest feeling is evident.

A photographic trip through the Antique Fair, Round Top which takes place twice a year in Texas is also a focus of the book. A variety of vendors, (including BBQ and Margaritas – that’s my kind of antiques fair!) the reader is guided through some of Mary Emmerling’s favourite’s. The book contains tips from Emmerling on taming your eclectic style – which I cannot stress enough! Unless you are Beyoncé.

Or Blue Ivy. I’m not adding a link here. You should know who Blue Ivy is.

Full of decorating finds – one is inspired to search through some of their own local antique markets for that elusive item. Don’t miss standouts such as the shabby chic bedroom with a galvanized metal ceiling in the Prairie Couture home tour (Yes, please!) and a huge gold crown found in a vintage shop in France that hangs over a sleek dining room table in The Barn house tour.

Check your local library for the book or take a look on Amazon. Or Chapters. You get it.

Click on any personal recommendations for antique or vintage finds below – if you are in #KWAWESOME

Can’t get enough? Check out: Get the Look! Urban Equestrian including tips on incorporating antiques into your space.

Btw. I did ask a very knowlegable and helpful young man at the LCBO to show me to their finest Claret and he thought I was referring to a women’s hair piece. The things I do for you people. Luckily, I told him about the blog. And he promised to read. He really knew his Whisky – I learned a great deal that day!

Up next? My exclusive conversation and tour with Natasha of the O and V Tasting Room – one of our favourite places.

Thursday.

Your in Décor,

Emily

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *